10 books in my shelf that are must read for book lovers!

The only thing I was excited about leaving Leh and coming to Manipur, was that I would be getting to stay in a house… a real brick and concrete house! Not that I did not love my tiny lil stone cave in Leh…  I absolutely did! But the place was so tiny that I could not open any of our stuffs. Everything was packed and dumped in the store along with my books. Its been three years I am married to a vagabond and we already own 15 trunks. Oh… and 3 trunks are only BOOKS! Damn! No complains though. We both are fond of reading and though our choice of books are very different… book shopping  is something we love doing together. 🙂

The beauty of reading a book is, you can take it outdoors with you, so you can enjoy all the therapeutic benefits of reading. It relaxes you down and takes you to a different world altogether. Burying your head in a book is a great way of taking your attention away from your everyday troubles and transport yourself to your fantasy land.  Its an excellent way of filling in your time, and it will give you a welcome break, from your sometimes mundane and repetitive lives.Bookworms also have some serious perks in terms of health and happiness.

I missed arranging my books in a shelf and randomly picking one and reading them. To pass time I tried my hands on painting, paper quelling, making paper lamps and lot other stuffs but I did miss reading. And on my birthday, husband dearest presented me a Kindle! 😀 Though there is nothing like the smell of a new book but this technology does cut down your load. And for people like us who travel to a new place every alternate year its an amazing stuff!

In my almost reaching three decades of my life I have laid my hands on a few books and I am very proud of my display in my book shelf.  And from my shelf I give to you a list of 10 books which I feel will be loved by any book lover.

Wag’s Diary by Alison Kervin

This book was suggested by a friend of mine and I am so glad she did. I won’t say that this is one amazing book or a must read but its definitely something light-hearted, fun and hilarious. I finished the book in a day, its a fairly small book page wise. The characters in the book are likable and are to be taken in the manner they are intended – not so seriously. You are gonna enjoy it!

There are some books you read keeping your mind open just for fun, it is definitely that kind.

download1.jpg

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Divakaruni

This book was also suggested by a friend and I was so intrigues when I heard the plot that I ordered it right away. The  book is an interpretation of the events of the Indian Epic Mahabharata through the eyes of Panchali( Draupadi). The author has provided a new outlook on Panchali and you fall in love with her more. A strong, powerful, independent woman that she was, refusing to believe that her identity was to be bound by the men in her life, the book presents the series of the Epic through the choices she had made. In a patriarchal society that ancient India was, we get more of this strong women through this book.

Definitely a must read!

1774836.jpg

ASURA : Tale of the Vanquished by Anand Neelakantan

What if Ravana had a different story to tell? History has always been in favour of the victorious.. what if the defeated had a tale to tell? Asura is the epic retold by the vanquished Asura people. The book is extremely well researched and this is a book you have to read with an open mind, which is not a cup of tea for many!

Epics have always been in my shelf and I put this one in the list because Ravana has always been one of my favourite characters in Ramayan and I feel people should see him from a different perspective and not as a villian.

61zTKrAg6WL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Many Lives, Many Masters by Brian L. Weiss

It was a fascinating read and I got hooked to it. Do I believe in reincarnation? — Yes… No… Maybe, but the book got me intrigued and the information in it would definitely stay with me. This book did make me look at life and relationships in a different perspective.

This book is definitely worth investing time on.  Give it a try!

713scdny0uL.jpg

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I absolutely love this timeless classic! This is one book that I would have loved in my childhood and my feelings still haven’t changed yet! A lot has been said about this book and what I must say is it will never stop being a good book and never stop inspiring people with it.

This wonderful piece of literature is to be loved!

 

715VLP6M-OL.jpg

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

The size of the book was a little scary cause its massive. And its not perfect but I loved the book! I read it while I was staying in hostel and the author’s description of Kolkata made me nostalgic. The book is mostly about a man’s search for forgiveness, love and his search for redemption. Its about everything and it has been rightly said by Pat Conroy “it is a grand work of extraordinary art, a thing of exceptional beauty”.

41XyOWAvExL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Khaled Hosseini mesmerizes you with his story telling in this master piece of his. The story about two wonderful, brave and intelligent women Mariam and Laila, their optimistic dreams, aspirations, boundless love. They are dehumanized, in merciless Afghanistan… they continually suffer degradation, during the dreaded years of the long, sad history of that troubled, war ravished nation.

A gripping tale … a must read.

713ZoQHz4mL.jpg

The Man before the Mahatma by Charles Disalvo

The bold and fearless man Mahatma Gandhi does not need any introduction but the young and timid Mohandas Gandhi does! The Gandhi who left his home at an early age of eighteen to make a life of his own… his journey of self discovery… of his success. The book is dramatic biography of Gandhi in his evolving ages and the experiences that changed his life forever.

16085028.jpg

My Autobiography by Charles Chaplin

An autobiography of a man who again needs no introduction. One of the greatest humanist… an artist… who had been criticized all his life, sometimes for his artistic taste, sometimes for his political choices, the life of this man is worth a read.

51QHPL4t6wL.jpg

The Course of Love by Alain de Botton

The psychology of a relationship wrapped in a love story. The book is sickeningly good and kind of a perfect antidote to what we’re told about love from the movies. And yet, its never cynical. I read this book at a very perfect time in my life… and I would definitely recommend others to read this.

cover.jpg

There are millions of books out there and if you get hold of one.. read it! Every one of it does have something to offer 🙂

If you like this post do like, share and comment! x

8 thoughts on “10 books in my shelf that are must read for book lovers!

Leave a Reply

