Horse Oil – A review on Guerisson 9-Complex

Apparently animal-based products are the hottest skin care trends coming from the beauty savvy country and I must say it has definitely caught the attention of K-beauty enthusiasts. I am drawn to Korean skin care because it tends to include more of natural ingredients like ginseng, tomato, pomegranate, mushroom, rice to name a few. And my experiment with these ingredients have been amazingly glorious. Also I love the fact that Korean women are always willing to experiment with adventurous and different ingredients, when it comes to beauty. Few of such bizarre stuffs that caught my eyes were – pig collagen, snail secretion filtrate, bee venom, donkey milk, snake venom, horse oil – just to name a few.

In my recent haul ( been a month already) I came across these pretty looking orange colour boxes and sheet masks but its the ingredients that caught my attention. The main ingredient happens to be ‘Horse oil’. It just came to me that may be using”horse oil” or any animal product as a matter of fact, as a beauty product is just a natural thing but, we all have our opinions and I am definitely not the one who is judging here – horse meat is a popular dish in many countries like Europe and Central Asia and so if, in my travels, I get to try it.. I would definitely go for it. So, horse oil… perfectly okay for me.IMG_20170606_213222.jpg

 

 

It’s not that I am on a quest for eternal youth but I wouldn’t mind some magic potion that would keep those cheeks glowing forever… 😛                                         Okay on a serious note, I am always trying my best to keep my skin in the best health it can be for my age! And trust me it’s not as taxing as you think it is.

I researched a little about the history of horse oil and this is what I found –

The use of horse oil in a medicinal way goes back to ancient China back in the 5th Century, and it is believed to have been bought to Japan during the Tang Dynasty.        Horse oil is different from other animal fats, which are high in saturated fatty acids. It contains unsaturated fats and essential fatty acids which help combat aging.            The composition of fatty acids in horse are very similar to human oil(sebum) and thus penetrates through your skin easily.

IMG_20170606_213245

  The Review :

The Guerisson 9 Complex Cream is manufactured by a company called Claire’s but it gained popularity due to its endorsement by actress Lee Ha-nui. It is a moisturizing cream that promises to rejuvenate, smooth and soften skin while lightening hyperpigmentation and reducing the appearance of wrinkles.

It has a really large ingredient list and they are absolutely beautiful, especially for someone with dry skin. And even if this cream did not star mark ‘horse oil’ as an ingredient, it would have still been a star with the reunion of many antioxidant rich plant oils and extracts, brighteners, scar lighteners and barrier strengtheners.

IMG_20170606_213421

Appearance – The cream is housed in a slightly textured orange cylinder. Inside the outer package is the jar that contains the actual product.The cream is a very light, buttery yellow. the texture of the cream appears firm but yielding. And the cream smells fresh and the citrus fragrance is dominating.

Application – The packaging comes with a spatula for a hygienic application of the cream and I totally love this idea. The cream is very rich, but spreads easily and readily absorbs in the skin. The skin is too heavy for day time use and so I am using it as a night mask and I totally love it!

Pros & Cons

  • Pros – Excellent for dry skin as the texture is heavy and thick. But goes well with normal skin too as a night mask. Easily absorbed by the skin and leaves it with a smooth feel. You wake up with a glow and lastly and most importantly – Smell amazing!
  • Cons – Too heavy and so not a good choice for oily skin.

IMG_20170606_213449

I have been using this cream for more than a month now and I have forgotten if I ever had dry skin. Almost six months back a few drops of boiling oil spluttered on my face and I got burn marks on my face and the marks have considerably reduced with the use of 9 complex sheet mask and cream. It helps to deeply hydrate and revitalize your skin. It makes your skin soft, calm, smooth and even toned and free from dark spots.

2016072208322223426

 

Still… ” Horse Oil” sounds weird?! Hey.. It’s all fair for the love of some skincaretainment 😉

Leave a Reply

